Become a Coach

Botany Downs National SS Champs

bdsc_nisschampssmlBotany Downs Secondary College boasts the team to beat in high school baseball after adding the North Island title to its win in [last seasons] Auckland championship.

They beat Glenfield College, which had Major League Baseball signee for the Baltimore Orioles Pita Rona in its line-up, 16-7 in the final at Crossfield Reserve, Glendowie, last Friday.

Led by batter Sam Long and pitcher Jacob Burgin, who were both named in the All-Tournament team, Botany went through its seven games unbeaten.

Manager Richard Henty says the side was "optimistically confident" going into the tournament with a couple of additions to the team which beat King's College in the Auckland decider in December.

"We were expecting to win," says Henty. "The team has a good nucleus of coach and players and we head-hunted cricket players with strong throwing arms and hand-eye coordination."

With pitchers restricted to throwing 80 pitches a game, once Botany had seen off Glenfield's starter Rona, who topped the batting stats and was named tournament MVP, the hits and runs totted up.

A six-run fourth inning gave Botany a 9-5 lead, before three homers in the fifth provided the final score.

"The team was ecstatic at the end," says Henty. "We'd had a massive lead, so it felt like victory ahead of that time. The three home runs allowed the guys to rush out of the dugout to celebrate."

St Kent's Taylor Simmons and Jordan Hosking were also named in the All-Tournament team.

  • Botany Downs Secondary College baseball squad:
    Dylan Irwin, Sam Long, Jacob Burgin, Abba Dassannyake, Matthew Broughton, Hamish Dickason, Thomas Flanagan, Cole Holland, Anthony Holtzhausen, Zachary Petersen, Stefan Williams, Oran Henry, Vishant Kumar, Taylor Lightfoot, Diinkant Ravichandran. Coach: Mark Irwin. Manager: Richard Henty.

  • New Zealand Secondary Schools National Baseball All Tournament Team:
    Sam Long               Botany Downs Secondary College
    Jacob Burgin          Botany Downs Secondary College
    Corey Tipene         Glendowie College
    Pita Rona                Glenfield College (also named MVP)
    Akimasa Sagabe     Glenfield College
    Kohei Ueha             One Tree Hill College
    Javarn Woolston    One Tree Hill College
    Taylor Simmons     St. Kentigern College
    Jordan Hosking      St. Kentigern College


By Daniel Silverton

Howick and Botany Times


Photos from the 2012 Baseball New Zealand National Secondary Schools Championships



        Infinity Logo    diamond-3d-logosml
JTB Logo