National U18 Development Squad Named for Busy Year Ahead

Baseball New Zealand's national selection panel have finalised a 40-man Development squad for the New Zealand U18 team which will play at October's Arizona Fall Classic, christmas Goodwill Series and the Baseball Confederation of Oceania (BCO) tournament in January 2019, a qualifier for the WBSC World Cup later in the year.

Head Coach Dan Tan has a mixture of youth and experience in the 40-man roster which will be narrowed down to 20 players in October, following the Arizona Senior Fall Classic.

New Zealand U18 40-man Roster

  1. Abishek Brindhaben (Qatar)              
  2. Ayden Hammond (Porirua Bombers)
  3. Beckham Crooks (Gold Coast, Australia)
  4. Ben Murray (Orewa), now Palmerston North                      
  5. Caleb Taylor (Hutt Valley Hornets)
  6. Charlie Adamson (Malibu, California)
  7. Chayton Krauss (Pennsylvania, USA)
  8. Devon van Rensburg (North Shore City)
  9. Dominic Elliot (Central City)
  10. Faenza Bishop (Gold Coast, Australia)
  11. Harrison Loudon  (North Shore City)
  12. Harrison Wildbore (Howick Pakuranga Hawks)
  13. Huriwaka Repia (Howick Pakuranga Hawks)
  14. Isaac Matalevea-Booth (Howick Pakuranga Hawks)
  15. Jackson Schofield (Bayside Westhaven Wolves)
  16. Jaden Dawson (Orewa Sharks)
  17. Jed Woodger (Melbourne, Australia)
  18. Josh Pakola (St Francis High School, California)
  19. Kazuya Yasue (North Shore City), now Japan                    
  20. Keaton Nepia (Howick Pakuranga Hawks)
  21. Marcus Feagaiga (Redcliffe Padres, Queensland)
  22. Marlee Saunderson (Counties Colts)
  23. Matthew Fegan (North Shore City)
  24. Max Thompson (Southern Astros)
  25. Maxwell Leuga (Melbourne, Australia)
  26. Minjae Kim (North Shore City)
  27. Pharell Peni (Counties Colts)
  28. Ryan Saunders (United States)                 
  29. Ryoma Fuse (North Shore City)
  30. Sage Shaw-Tait (Hutt Valley Hornets)
  31. Seth Lomas (Hamilton Raiders)
  32. Shiloh Fruean (North Shore City)
  33. Taichi Nakao (North Shore City)
  34. Taylor Irwin (Counties Colts)
  35. Te Aati Paul (Orewa Sharks)
  36. Te Kirika Cooper-Nicola (Hamilton Raiders)
  37. TJ Osbourne (Southern Astros)
  38. Tui Amosa (Howick Pakuranga Hawks)
  39. Tukuteihu Repia (Howick Pakuranga Hawks)
  40. Tyrone Boaler (North Shore City)

Key Dates

7 to 9 July - Full squad camp in Auckland

14 to 16 September - Full squad camp in Auckland 

1 to 16 October - Arizona Senior Fall Classic, Phoenix, Arizona, USA (Squad for Fall Classic will include some older players)

22 October - Final 20-man roster and non-travelling reserves named for BCO Tournament and Goodwill Series

22 to 27 December - Goodwill Series

11 to 17 January 2019 - Final camp for BCO Squad in Auckland

18 to 21 January 2019 - BCO U18 Championship in Guam


Article added: Wednesday 20 June 2018


Latest News